In the gripping final round of The Players Championship, J.J. Spaun held his own against Rory McIlroy, leading to a three-hole playoff to crown the 2025 champion. Despite the intense competition, a controversial move by Spaun has sparked debate in the golfing community, with the likes of Phil Mickelson weighing in on the matter.
Aiming for his second PGA Tour win, Spaun was pitted against McIlroy, a veteran seeking his second Players Championship title. However, it was Spaun’s controversial drop on a sprinkler head — executed not once, but twice — to align himself on the fairway for a vital par, that has viewers and fellow players talking.
Many fans have criticized this move, labeling it as a lucky break. Yet, fellow PGA Tour professional Michael Kim contends he would have made the same play. The debate has now reached social media, where golfing legend Phil Mickelson has shared his perspective.
Known for his deep understanding of the intricacies of golf and its regulations, Mickelson’s response to Spaun’s controversial drop was far from surprising. Echoing the stance of Michael Kim, Mickelson supported Spaun’s decision, asserting that the rules of golf are there to be strategically used to a player’s advantage.
The R&A’s rules, as highlighted by Mickelson and Kim, allow for such strategic plays. The rules pertaining to taking relief on the PGA Tour may appear complex, but fundamentally, they permit actions like Spaun’s.
Rule 16, as outlined on the R&A’s official website, governs scenarios of when and how a player may take free relief by playing a ball from a different place, such as interference by an abnormal course condition, which includes sprinkler heads. Not considered part of the normal challenge of playing the course, free relief is generally permitted except in a penalty area, with the player typically dropping a ball based on the nearest point of complete relief.
The Players Championshipの緊迫した最終ラウンドで、J.J. スパウンはローリー・マキロイに対抗し、2025年のチャンピオンを決めるための3ホールのプレーオフに突入しました。激しい競争にもかかわらず、スパウンの物議を醸す動きがゴルフコミュニティで議論を呼び起こし、フィル・ミケルソンのような著名人もこの問題にコメントしています。
2回目のPGAツアー勝利を目指すスパウンは、2回目のプレーヤーズチャンピオンシップタイトルを狙うベテランのマキロイと対戦しました。しかし、スパウンが重要なパーを得るためにフェアウェイに位置を合わせるためにスプリンクラーのヘッドで物議を醸すドロップを行ったことが、視聴者や他の選手たちの話題になっています。
多くのファンはこの動きを批判し、運が良かったと評しています。しかし、PGAツアーのプロであるマイケル・キムは、彼も同じプレーをしただろうと主張しています。この議論はソーシャルメディアにまで広がり、ゴルフのレジェンドであるフィル・ミケルソンが彼の見解を共有しました。
ゴルフの複雑さや規則について深い理解を持つことで知られるミケルソンのスパウンの物議を醸すドロップに対する反応は驚くべきものではありませんでした。マイケル・キムの立場を反映し、ミケルソンはスパウンの決定を支持し、ゴルフのルールは選手の利益のために戦略的に使われるべきものであると主張しました。
ミケルソンとキムが強調したR&Aのルールは、そのような戦略的なプレーを許可しています。PGAツアーでの救済を受けるためのルールは複雑に見えるかもしれませんが、基本的にはスパウンのような行動を許可しています。
R&Aの公式ウェブサイトに記載されているルール16は、プレーヤーが異なる場所からボールをプレーすることによって無料の救済を受けることができるシナリオを規定しています。これは異常なコース条件による干渉、スプリンクラーのヘッドを含みます。コースプレーの通常の挑戦の一部とは見なされず、ペナルティエリアを除いて一般的に無料の救済が許可されており、プレーヤーは通常、完全な救済の最も近いポイントに基づいてボールをドロップします。
一部のファンは、スパウンの戦略的なルールの利用を勝利を収める際の重要な瞬間と見なすかもしれませんが、プロとしてプレーする者たちは彼の行動を理解し、尊重しているようです。議論が続く中で、この事件はゲームのルールのニュアンスを理解することの重要性を強調しています。